International Productivity Monitor

The International Productivity Monitor is published by the Centre for the Study of Living Standards (CSLS) for Industry Canada to support policy analysis and development in the productivity area. The objective of the Monitor is to focus attention on the importance of productivity for improving living standards and quality of life. The Monitor publishes high-quality articles on productivity issues, trends and developments in Canada and other countries and serves as a vehicle for the international discussion of productivity topics. Print and on-line versions are published twice a year. The articles are largely non-technical in nature and understandable to a wide audience of productivity researchers and analysts as well as the general public. The publication is distributed to anyone interested in productivity issues on a complimentary basis. While most articles are invited, submissions will be considered.

Editor

Andrew Sharpe Centre for the Study of Living Standards

Editorial Board

Jeanne Bailliu	Bank of Canada
Pierre Fortin	Université du Québec à Montréal
Wulong Gu	Statistics Canada
Larry Shute	Industry Canada
	Finance Canada

International Advisory Committee

Martin N. Baily	Brookings Institution	
Ernie Berndt		
Don Brunker	Australian Productivity Commission	
Gilbert Cette		
Erwin Diewert	University of British Columbia	
Barbara Fraumeni	University of Southern Maine	
Robert J. Gordon	Northwestern University	
Michael Harper	Bureau of Labor Statistics	
Richard G. Harris	Simon Fraser University	
Charles Hulten	University of Maryland	
Lawrence Jeffrey Johnson	International Labour Organization	
Dale Jorgenson	Harvard University	
Steven Landefeld	Bureau of Economic Analysis	
Jeff Madrick	Challenge	
Mika Maliranta	Research Institute of the Finnish Economy	
Larry Mishel	Economic Policy Institute	
Dean Parham		
Pascal Petit	CEPREMAP	
Paul Schreyer	OECD	
Daniel Sichel	Federal Reserve Board	
Roland Spant	Swedish Confederation of Professional Employees	
Jack Triplett	Brookings Institution	
Bart van Ark	University of Groningen and Conference Board	
Edward Wolff	New York University	
Lee Kia Yoke		

Views expressed in the *Monitor* are not necessarily those of institutions with which members of the International Advisory Committee are affiliated.

Centre for the Study of Living Standards 111 Sparks Street, Suite 500 Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1P 5B5 613-233-8891 Fax 613-233-8250 csls@csls.ca www.csls.ca The International Productivity Monitor is indexed in the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) on CD, e-JEL, and EconLit. ISSN 1492-9759 print ISSN 1492-9767 on-line

© Centre for the Study of Living Standards, 2010.



The Centre for the Study of Living Standards

The Centre for the Study of Living Standards (CSLS) is a national, independent, not-for-profit research organization which began operations in August 1995. Its objectives are twofold. First, to contribute to a better understanding of trends and determinants of productivity, living standards, and economic well-being in Canada through research. Second, to contribute to public debate by developing and advocating specific policies to improve the standard of living of Canadians.

The activities of the CSLS are motivated by the following general principles:

- in the long run, productivity growth is the key to improved living standards;
- in the short to medium term, elimination of any output gap is the most effective way to raise living standards;
- the equitable sharing of productivity gains among all groups in society is an essential element of the economic growth process;
- increased cooperation among the various groups which make up our society can contribute significantly to better living standards; and
- reliable data are crucial to the monitoring and analysis of living standards and to the development of effective policies to increase living standards.

A Board of Directors composed of well-known economists and persons with experience in economic policy making at a senior level directs the activities of the CSLS. The following individuals currently serve on the Board:

Chair	Ian Stewart		
Executive Director	Andrew Sharpe		
Secretary/Treasurer	Richard Van Loon		
Board Members	Keith Banting	Paul Davenport	
	Don Drummond	Pierre Fortin	
	Morley Gunderson	Richard G. Harris	
	Alice Nakamura	Alan Nymark	
	Maureen O'Neil	Lars Osberg	
	Craig Riddell		